Unity3D UI Batching and Batch Breaking

Saharukh Mollah
2 min readApr 2, 2021

In my recent work, I faced one of the major issues of batch breaking for my UI System. Modern UI systems are complex and it requires multiple hierarchy structure and a lot of elements. As a Technical Artist, my first choice was to use a single sprite sheet to draw all the UI elements in a single batch.

But little was known about the unity batching system. I was not getting the expected batching results.

All of my items shared a single sprite sheet yet the batch count was 6, I was trying to figure out why this is happening, but it was quite hard for me to find any suitable article on this issue and literally, when I started banging my head I found an article from Stefan Loser‘s Blog. Voila!! issue solved!

So the problem was with my hierarchy Since the text and the images are different textures they must but separated to batch them differently else they will be breaking the batch.

So if you face the same issue try to look into your hierarchy to solve it.

--

--

Saharukh Mollah

Blending creativity with technical finesse for stunning UIs